Persimmon SeedBefore winter ever officially hit Crockett Texas, I had a conversation with a local organic farmer who shared with me about the hard winter prediction of the persimmon seed! Yeah, yeah, yeah! I already read the 2014 Almanac’s weather predictions that forecast a cold, wet winter for east Texas. According to the Almanac, we can look at the shape of the kernel inside the seed to determine winter forecast. If the kernel is spoon-shaped, lots of heavy, wet snow will fall. Spoon = shovel! If it is fork-shaped, you can expect powdery, light snow and a mild winter. If the kernel is knife-shaped, expect to be “cut” by icy, cutting winds.

Well it turns out the little persimmon seed didn’t lie for 2014, it has been a snowy, COLD winter for this almost 50 years a Florida girl! Ha! We had snow at our house not just once, (It’s common for a little dusting every few years in Crockett TX.), no, this year we’ve had snow showers that covered everything, two days of snow flurries, and more flurries and sleet are forecast in the week ahead! It’s making me pay attention more and more to what nature reveals, albeit I believe from God Himself, Who tells us beforehand of things to come!

Then to further confirm how nature reveals future forecasts, there’s the wooly worm! North Carolina “folklore” says that if that caterpillar is orange-brown the winter will be mild. If it’s black, a hard winter is in store! Guess what? Black wooly worms abounded this year accurately predicting a hard winter. Thanks for the insight “Shelly B.,” again we see how our God preprograms nature to tell us what is to come!

I’m learning to pay attention to what is going on around me in nature! Signs in the heavens, three blood moons to come, medicine and food in the trees branches waving openly to us calling us back to our roots, and people pointing all around to Christ, the Cross, and heaven on earth to come!

“Pay attention,” I hear all the time. It’s not about following “old wives tales” and “folklore,” God is speaking and He has given us every answer in nature as it pertains to our physical being.

I loved watching that snow come down and blow around through that January night, and then The Kelly Haciendawaking up to see the coverage all over our pastures and home. It was BEAUTIFUL, but cold! I’m trying not to whine because I know in a few months the temps will soar to 100 plus… I’ll try not to whine then. Hopefully God will have a lesson for me in that season too! I’m counting on it! Expecting Him to show up and show out in every area of my life and family and friends too!

Here’s to gracious living! Where God is center, home and family and friends are the real hearth, and blazing fires burn not only in the fireplace for warmth, but in the heart for Christ!