Royal CamuA week ago I shared about rebuilding collagen to combat sagging skin after weight loss. Read the post here! Long story short, vitamin C is scientifically proven to boost collagen production in the body. And you don’t need to purchase expensive serums from the beauty industry, you CAN make your own! I found a recipe at Wellness Mama and purchased the same vitamin C powder she recommends; Royal Camu.

The vitamin C powder arrived at my house today and I have already mixed up a batch of serum! I put a few drops of the mixture on my arm and I’m happy to say it feels very lux! Of course, the vitamin C powder is mixed with organic glycerine. The thought of oil on my skin made me a little nervous, but it soaked right in with the camu-camu. I’ll keep you posted on the long-term effects of applying it to the areas that have been most affected by my recent weight loss.

For those who may not know, camu-camu, is a wild Amazonian rainforest fruit that contains more vitamin C than any other known botanical in a potent food form. I purchased mine from Radiant Life Company. It can be ingested with a mix of water to maintain optimal immune health too and tastes fairly good.

I’m always excited to make my own beauty products, especially when the ingredients are pure! BIG SMILES… and a happy heart result! Here’s the recipe for DIY Vitamin C Serum found at wellnessmama.com:

A simple and effective Vitamin C serum that boosts skin health with natural ingredients.
Author: Wellness Mama
Recipe type: Beauty
Ingredients
  • ½ tsp Vitamin C Powder (I use this one)
  • 1 tablespoon distilled water OR 1 teaspoons distilled water to dissolve and 2 Tablespoons vegetable glycerine (I used this one)
  • a dark colored container to store (Vitamin C oxidizes easily) I used this one.
Instructions
  1. Dissolve the Vitamin C powder in the water.
  2. If only using water and Vitamin C, you are done. This will store for up to 2 weeks or longer in the fridge.
  3. If using glycerine, dissolve the Vitamin C in the smaller amount of water, then stir in glycerine and store. This version will last a month or longer.
Wellness Mama’s Notes
Personally, I like the pure Vitamin C and water recipe as a toner after cleansing, though glycerine is moisturizing and softening for the skin and will extend the recipe. DO NOT use glycerine on anything that is used in oral care or in the mouth as it is bad for teeth.